NBA Finals

The NBA Finals is the yearly championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference champions play a best-of-seven game series to determine the league champion. The winners of the Finals are awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was originally Called the BAA Finals before the 1949–50 year when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The contest oversaw additional name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, as well as a short stint as the Showdown, before settling NBA Finals in 1986. [1]
The NBA Finals was initially structured in a two –2–1–1–1 structure. Back in 1985, to ease the amount of cross-country journey, it was changed to a 2–3–2 structure, in which the first two and final two games of the series have been played in the arena of the team who made home-court advantage by getting the better record during the regular season. In 2014, the two –2–1–1–1 structure has been restored. The first two matches are played the higher-seeded team’s home, the following two in the home of the lower-seeded team, and the rest three are played at each team’s home arena . [2]
A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the most victories, having won the competition 17 occasions, as well as the many consecutive titles, winning 8 times from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the many times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the many champions, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Convention has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.